"As If": This was added to the FAQ (v.1.7, March 2020) and then amended (v.1.8, October 2020). You can read the October ruling on the ArkhamDB rules page here. (I'm adding a hyperlink rather than retyping the rules in case in future the ruling is changed or amended - at that point, the rules page will be updated and all ArkhamDB FAQ entries will link to the correct ruling.)
Q: Double, Double vs Pay Day. Can the of Double, Double be initiated despite the end of the turn [from Pay Day]? If the turn immediately ends, does this mean even if Pay Day is played again, no actions were performed and the second pay day will grant no resources? A: Technically, you can use Double, Double to play a card that ends your turn twice, even though it ends your turn. Ending your turn doesn’t mean that you can’t trigger effects, it just means that you can no longer take actions. Since the second playing of the card doesn’t cost an action in this case, you can go ahead and resolve it even though your turn has ended. HOWEVER, due to the specific text on Pay Day, doing so would essentially do nothing. It says that you gain 1 resource for each action you performed this turn. Since you are playing it outside of your turn, you would gain 0 resources from the second copy of Pay Day (since the first copy ended your turn.)
Q: Double, Double vs The Painted World.
I imagine The Painted World cannot be played twice by Double, Double, since it's removed from the game, but can the copied event be played twice? A: You can absolutely use Double, Double to play The Painted World twice. Note that it says you play it “as if it were in your hand,” so each time you played it in this way, you could choose a different event beneath Sefina Rousseau. Keep in mind this may not work with some events (such as events that become attachments or go to a specific play area) as you only actually have one physical copy of The Painted World to move around.UPDATE: There is an extant ruling that one can trigger Double, Double after playing The Painted World (and target different cards no less). A recent ruling said that one cannot trigger double double after playing Cheat Death as Cheat Death will have been removed from the game as part of its resolution. As The Painted World is also removed from the game during its resolution (albeit with slightly different timing) is this ruling no longer valid? Would the same be true of any card removed from the game? A: Under current rulings, removing The Painted World from the game is a part of its resolution, so it would be an ineligible target for Double, Double. This does overrule the previous ruling.
Q: Can you use Double, Double on Scene of the Crime (as Tony)? Can you Double, Double with Evidence!? A: Yes, you can. You can use Double, Double on Scene of the Crime because it is still technically your first action (the second playing of the card does not cost an action). As for Evidence, it is a reaction to defeating an enemy, so as long as you are still in that same opportunity window (having just defeated the enemy), it is perfectly legal to use Double, Double to play it a second time. In this way, it’s no different from having two copies of Evidence in hand and playing both of them, one at a time.
Q: Regarding Double, Double, when is the time to trigger the ability in playing an event? When can I trigger Double, Double's triggered abilities, before or after the event card goes to the discard pile? For example:
- 1) When I played a Scrounge for Supplies and resolved the effect. Can I use the ability of Double, Double to resolve the effect of this card and return it from the discard pile to my hand? A: If you played Scrounge for Supplies, then activated Double, Double, you would retrieve Scrounge for Supplies from your discard and put it into Limbo (a liminal state, expanded upon in FAQ 2.0). It would not be in the discard pile at that time, and could not target itself.
- 2) When I played Delay the Inevitable and resolved the effect. Can I use the ability of Double, Double to play one again? If possible, is the timing of DD's triggering ability before or after this card's attachment to Investigator in play? A: Activating Double, Double on an event card that “attaches” would only cause that card to attach to something else, or reattach to the same element. This goes for Delay the Inevitable as well as cards like Reliable.
- 3) When I played Think on Your Feet and resolved the effect. Can I use the ability of Double, Double to play one again? If so, how do I resolve the effect? A: Playing Think on your Feet and activating Double, Double, would allow you to move an additional time before the enemy spawns, because a nested sequence off the same timing trigger has occurred.
- 4) When I played a Cheat Death and resolved the effect. Can I use the ability of Double, Double play one again? If so, what happens? A: Cheat Death must be removed from the game as part of its resolution. Double, Double cannot interact with it once it’s removed from the game.
Q: You explained that the trigger time points for Double, Double [see above] and Heirloom of Hyperborea are "after the Event/Spell card has resolved in full". How am I to correctly understand "This trigger occurs after the card has resolved in full."? According to your reply, I guess that a card is placed in play (e.g. attach to, in play area, in threat area), or in its owner's discard pile. Does this mean "this card has resolved in full"? What if a Spell Asset card is played, or an event card (e.g. Delay the Inevitable), in which case, at what point has "the card resolved in full"? A: For Heirloom of Hyperborea, it triggers after you play a Spell card. If the Spell card has a single effect like Ward of Protection and then gets discarded, you can trigger Heirloom once it’s in the discard pile. If you instead play a Spell like Scrying, you could activate Heirloom once Scrying enters play. A card like Delay the Inevitable, which stays in play after it is played, could become a target of Double, Double after it has been attached to an investigator.
Q: Double, Double reads "Play that event again as if it were in your hand." Does this actually mean "The same card is physically played twice", not "The second copy of the card was played by Double, Double"? If so, I play a Slip Away and fail the evasion test. Then, I trigger the Double, Double ability to "Play [Slip Away] again as if it were in my hand." If this skill test succeeded by 3 or more, can I return Slip Away (I mean the first card that failed the test, physically present, of course) to my hand at the end of my turn? A: Yes, Double, Double should be interpreted as physically playing the event card an additional time. Yes, you could fail the first test with Slip Away but succeed in the second to return Slip Away to your hand.
Après que vous avez joué un événement, inclinez Dédoubler : jouez de nouveau cet événement comme s'il était dans votre main.
– William Shakespeare, Macbeth
- Double, Double.
- The title of this card is a single word, doubled.
- The cost of this card is 2 x 2 = 4.
- The level of this card is also 4.
- Because it is exceptional, you pay double the XP to buy this card.
- Ironically, because it is exceptional, you can only have 1 in your deck.
- It has 2 commit icons on it.
- Not counting the duplicating coin in the middle, there are 16 (or 2^2^2) intact coins on the artwork.
- It lets you play any event twice.
- Aside from the keyword, the flavor text and rules text each take up 2 lines (4 total)
- It takes up an Arcane slot, of which you have 2.
- It is card 320 (2^5 x 10, note 2 x 5 = 10) in "The Circle Undone" cycle.
- It is in "Before the Black Throne", the Mythos pack containing the 8th Scenario this cycle.
- "The Circle Undone" is the 4th cycle of Arkham Horror LCG.
- The set symbol for "The Circle Undone" shows a severed figure 8, which contains 2 loops.
- The Rogue class symbol has 2 loops intertwined as well.
Alright enough of that. Clearly this is a Sefina Rousseau card. Get some extra value from The Painted World, a card that normally is restricted to three plays a game. Because Painted World becomes a copy of whatever card you play it as initially, I'm fairly sure you'd have to play that same event again if you Double, Double it, instead of getting to change targets, but that's okay. There's a lot of cards worth doubling: Drawn to the Flame, Sneak Attack, Backstab, Swift Reflexes, Narrow Escape, Hot Streak. Some events wont benefit well from this (Ward of Protection, Drawn to the Flame on lower player counts, Sure Gamble), but overall you'll probably get more than enough value out of it to make it worthwhile. Hot Streak is already a very powerful Sefina card when combined with Lola Santiago, so doubling it seems strong. Speaking of Lola and Hot Streak, Preston Fairmont likes this card as well. Preston relies on events to do anything (Intel Report, Decoy, Small Favor, "Look what I found!") so this could be very valuable action economy for him. Oh, and there's also Ace in the Hole.
That said I'm not fully sure how some of the timing would work there. Could you use it to discover four clues with "Look what I found!"? Could Sefina double Think on Your Feet and move two locations instead of one, or can she not double the card since she didn't draw another enemy? I'm not sure how the timing works here. Still, I'm sure there will be plenty of targets for this card. Two paragraphs.
We discovered a nifty little combo with this and Scrounge for Supplies. If you can draw both copies of Scrounge, you can double-play one to bring back the other Scrounge plus another card from your discard pile. Then you can repeat this every 1-2 turns to bring back cards from the discard at will. Of note, this combo costs no resources once the Double, Double is in play, and only one action each time you bring back the card (the same one action it would take to draw a card from your deck), although it uses up your Double, Double effect for the turn. The effect is potentially very strong, especially in the late game, but can only get back level 0 cards. Since Scrounge is a pretty good card anyways, it is a no-brainer for any investigator who will be taking Double, Double.
Currently the deck builder allows you to put two of these in a deck. Being fuzzy on the rules for 'exceptional' I did that. Yes I realize it means I've been cheating for quite a few scenarios but I just want to say that having two copies in play is the most glorious thing I've seen in any game so far :p