- Q: Trying to figure out how Dawn Star is used in the game. 1. Does the card’s play instructions “Play after revealing chaos tokens during a skill test at your location.” mean “play after you reveal all chaos tokens for this skill test”? In other words, until I can't reveal the new chaos token? Or, "Play after revealing any chaos token during a skill test at your location."? 2. Does "Ignore the modifiers of each curse token revealed during this test" mean "Ignore the modifiers of each curse token that was revealed during this test"? Is "Ignore the modifiers of each curse token revealed during this test" a lasting effect? If it is "Play after revealing any chaos token during a skill test at your location.", then after Dawn Star is played, can I still ignore the modifiers when I reveal a new curse token? 3. Does "For each curse token ignored, deal 1 damage to an enemy at your location." mean "For each of those curse token modifiers ignored, deal 1 damage to an enemy at your location."? According to the “For each”or“for every”rule (2.23), it should be immediately resolved as a single cumulative effect? If it is "Play after revealing any chaos token during a skill test at your location.", then after Dawn Star is played, can I still deal damage if I reveal a new curse token? 4. If it is "play after you reveal all chaos tokens for this skill test", then assuming there is no reveal curse token during a skill test, can I still play Dawn Star? Could it be that it cannot be played because its effect does not have the potential to change the game state? 5. If I trigger Rod of Carnamagos during a skill test, assuming that after resolving the effect of "Reveal 5 random chaos tokens from the chaos bag", I reveal the curse token, can I play Dawn Star? If so, based on your ruling: "If you trigger Rod of Carnamagos during a skill test, you do not resolve the effects of the tokens it reveals" In other words, any tokens revealed by Rod of Carnamagos have no modifiers, Does this mean I can't deal damage to the enemy? A: To answer your question(s):
- You are intended to play Dawn Star at the very end of Step 3 of a skill test, immediately after you’ve revealed all of the tokens for that test.
- Dawn Star does not create a lasting effect.
- Yes, each curse token modifier ignored by Dawn Star’s effect translates to 1 damage that you deal to an enemy, and you deal that damage immediately. If you somehow reveal more curse tokens during that test after you play Dawn Star, you don’t deal any damage at that time.
- No; if you don’t reveal any tokens during a test, you don’t play Dawn Star.
- No, you can’t play Dawn Star after revealing tokens with Rod of Carnamagos. The tokens that Rod reveals aren’t resolved, so you can’t ignore their modifiers, and there is no way you can change the game state by playing Dawn Star at that time. (Rules Forum Answer, June 2024)
Last updated