Hatchet Man is useful in two scenarios not listed here: you have Delilah O’Rourke, or your fellow investigators include Rita Young. Card might as well say “for 0 actions, your pal does plus one damage.” Not essential, but in a combat heavy scenario this can help. You could also boost your sneak attack. Perhaps the greatest beneficiary would be Winifred , who already has the dexterity to evade things and loves adding skill cards to tests. And only a daredevil would have the guts to lather up an O’Bannion.
Si ce test de compétence est réussi lors d'une tentative d'évasion, la prochaine fois que l'ennemi auquel on a echappé subit des dégâts à ce tour, infligez-lui 1 dégât supplémentaire.
Hatchet Man synergizes with:
If you build around some of these cards Hatchet Man can be worthwhile.
However, unless you build quite hard around it most of the time I don't think this card is worth the slot in your deck. Situations in which you want to evade first and then do damage just aren't common enough and you'll often have this card sitting in your hand for a while before you can get a chance to play it.
If you've got a weapon out or damage card available you're usually just going to use it to attempt kill the enemy off. If you don't have a weapon or damage card that can deal with an enemy you're more likely going to want to move away or seek alternative solutions after evading.
I think this card deserved another symbol so it was more playable even if you weren't going to get value from the text and you'd more easily consider it over a Manual Dexterity. As it stands you need to be playing the combo cards to make this worthwhile
Fantasy Flight Rules Query: "Hatchet Man/Double or Nothing: i) Evade successful with Double or Nothing and Hatchet Man committed: Will the next time damage is done to the enemy this turn cause 1 extra damage or 2? ii) Following a successful evasion with Hatchet Man committed, if the next time damage is done to the enemy this turn accrues from a Fight with Double or Nothing committed, is the extra damage from Hatchet Man doubled?" Per Matthew Newman: "Yes, Double or Nothing + Hatchet Man will cause your next attack to deal +2 damage. If you then commit Double or Nothing to that subsequent attack, that damage will also be resolved a second time, meaning you will deal +4 damage in total."