Événement

Tactique. Ruse.

Coût: 1.

Survivant

Rapide. Attachez Cachette à n'importe quel lieu.

Chaque ennemi non-Élite dans le lieu attaché gagne Distant.

Forcé – À la fin de la phase des Ennemis, si un ennemi redressé est dans le lieu attaché : défaussez Cachette.

Un... deux... trois...
Adam Schumpert
La Route de Carcosa #38.
Cachette

FAQs

No faqs yet for this card.

Reviews

Probably the best Investigator in the game to use this card would be Wendy Adams. Wendy's Amulet allows her to recur events from the discard pile. Due to the wording of her amulet, Events that end up attaching to locations do not end up going to the discard pile (and, therefore, do not end up going to the bottom of her deck).

When Hiding Spot would expire at the End of the Enemy Phase as a result of a ready enemy being at an attached location, Hiding Spot would be discarded straight to the top of the discard pile. There's a Player Action window at the start of the Upkeep Phase that allows Wendy to use the Amulet's ability to play Hiding Spot out again to a location.

Unfortunately, that small gap in time allows any enemies at a location to immediately engage with any Investigators there (and playing Hiding Spot does not cause them to dis-engage, they just gain Aloof). However, playing Hiding Spot to the same location will help keep out MORE enemies drawn from the Encounter Deck, while your team deals with the enemies currently on them.

Darthcaboose · 274
Whoops, by "start of the Mythos Phase", I actually meant "start of the Upkeep Phase" which is right after the Enemy Phase. — Darthcaboose · 274
As of FAQ 1.9 Wendy's Amulet has been Errataed and that trick no longer works. Now the Forced effect triggers even when your events are discarded from play at any time. You can therefore no longer infinitely recur hiding spot. — Killbray · 10406

Official ruling on Hiding Spot from Matthew Newman regarding enemies spawning on investigator at Hiding Spot location.

If a non-Elite enemy would spawn at a location that has Hiding Spot attached to it, the enemy gains aloof as they are going through the process of spawning, and thus the rules for “aloof” kick in ("When an aloof enemy spawns, it spawns unengaged,” RR page 4). As a result, the enemy will spawn unengaged.

But can you play it when an enemy is spawining, or must you play it beforehand? — Tsuruki23 · 2483
the mythos phase does not have a fast player window until after all encounter cards are drawn, so it must be played in the fast window at the end of the upkeep phase. — stetson · 3
Slight correction, but any card drawn that features a test of any sorts triggers a test sequence which DOES feature a fast window. However, if your encounter cards do not feature tests, then there will be no fast window. — Darthcaboose · 274
Actually, I think there may be a loophole for using Hiding Spot during the Mythos Phase. indeed, when each investigator draws 1 encounter card, the 3rd step is to resolve any revelation effects, before spawning ennemies which is only step 4. Revelation effects may trigger tests, opening player windows. In this case, hidding spot could be played during the Mythos phase. — Alleria · 112
Okay, but those steps are for resolving an individual encounter card, so unless you draw an enemy with a revelation effect that contains a test, you’re still blindly playing the card before you know if a. Insert will actually spawn. (Unless you had scryed it.) — Death by Chocolate · 1388
Query on this; in my head there is a distinction between an enemy spawning at a LOCATION which has a Hiding Spot (which I agree would render them Aloof and not engaged), and drawing an enemy from the encounter deck. Rules state that if it has no Spawn instruction, it spawns engaged with the investigator who drew it. It seems to me in that case, the enemy is indeed Aloof - but also engaged with me, so I still need to at least evade it? It seems like an unusual interpretation to say that it doesn't engage me because it's Aloof, when the rule text specifies it arrives engaged with me? — Rick Dreckitt · 1

This card combines very well with an Evade strategy. Especially in games with 3+ players enemies that you do not want to kill for whatever reasons will pile up on locations and will sometimes have to be evaded again and again while you are waiting for some crucial clues to be collected. Playing Hiding Spot on these locations will prevent the enemies from re-engaging in the upkeep phase and let the investigators use their actions for something else.

Who wants to take this card?:

  • solo and , especially fast play ones who make use of shortcut or similar cards
  • any character filling a support roll
  • no

This card shines most in the upkeep phase, where it can be played to protect a crucial location or at a location from being tangled up by monsters spawning there. If a squishy needs more time to investigate a location this card will insure that they get that time without the need of a or investigator with high babysitting them. This frees up both actions and turn order for other investigators. Even if the investigator does not get a chance to move he will get an entire turn without being attacked. As a little bit of a bonus it can serve the same function as dodge against a hunter, but will not prevent said hunter from engaging at the end of the enemy phase.

As a card in a support deck, it can be placed at any location, even ones that have not yet been revealed. Not only does this allow the support range to take care of other investigators across the map, it means that locations that spawn creatures when they are revealed do not result in that creature immediately engaging the investigator that revealed it. Squishy investigators can spearhead into new locations fearlessly(sort of)!

The most fascinating use for this card is how it would pair nicely with cards that grant movement. In decks that make use of shortcut or pathfinder, Rex could conceivably clear a location out from under the noses of a group of non hunters without them even taking notice, bonus points if he can retreat behind a barricade.

tl;dr

  • Protects from the mythos deck dropping creatures on you
  • Works best with solo and multiplayer
  • Can get fancy with movement cards
  • and are made less efficient with this card
  • requires planning ahead to use effectively
Edited for readability and to make it pretty
stetson · 3
Official ruling on Hiding Spot from Matthew Newman regarding enemies spawning on investigator at Hiding Spot location. — sacrelicious2 · 43
If a non-Elite enemy would spawn at a location that has Hiding Spot attached to it, the enemy gains aloof as they are going through the process of spawning, and thus the rules for “aloof” kick in ("When an aloof enemy spawns, it spawns unengaged,” RR page 4). As a result, the enemy will spawn unengaged. — sacrelicious2 · 43
As further clarification this card will not do anything to break up investigators that are already engaged with an enemy, it must be used preemptively either in the expectation that the mythos phase will spawn creatures at the worst possible time/before moving into an enemy occupied location. — stetson · 3
I'm pretty sure you can't play it during the Upkeep phase? Fast events without specific timing window rules can only be played during a player's turn. — Winged · 1
Actually, only fast assets have the assumed ‘only during a player’s turn. Otherwise fast cards without specified Timing windows can be played during any Free Trigger Window. — Death by Chocolate · 1388

A little trick with this card is that the enemy exhausts after making a normal attack in Enemy Phase 3.3, and the check of this card came at the end of enemy phase. Therefore if you are already fighting an enemy and see that the damage taking is inevitable, you can attach Hiding Spot on your location. It is not destroyed while the enemy is busy attacking you.

Therefore playing this card can prevent a new enemy spawning onto you while you aren't quite finished with the current enemy yet, since the new enemy gains Aloof and you are messing with the previous enemy inside the hiding spot... If nothing spawns then you still get the spot saved up for use in the future.

It also gains Aloof, which is not useful if you are already engaged, unless you evade it, in that case you have an advantage of evading on the final action, not having to move away. Fast attach timing can be as late as after Hunter enemy moves, so you can see the result of your evasion attempt first even if it was the final action.

5argon · 8269
The enemy that attacked you become aloof as well, so I do not see the benefit of playing Hiding spot after it made an attack. If you want to fight that enemy in next round, you must spend an action to engage it, so it might be even worse :-) — johniez · 3
THE enemy who attacked you become exhausted and so the hiding spot won't be discarded. That helps in the next round if an enemy spawns at your location during the mytos phase — Tharzax · 1
I understand the fact that the Hiding spot won't be discarded. I just made wrong assumption that the enemy already engaded with attacked investigator become unengaged, after becoming aloof, but it will not. So you do not need to engage that enemy and it is "inside the hiding spot" as the reviewer wrote. Now it makes sense to me :) — johniez · 3

I am writing my first review here as I want to check that idea:

That card to me could do wonder on Zoey Samaras with a type of deck that wants her to collect most enemies possible, for example with "Let me handle this!", On the Hunt, Taunt (and Upgrade 1/Upgrade 2).

Let's say that in this situation, Zoey gets around 3 enemies on her, attacks a full round, plays Hiding Spot so performing 3 Dodge at once.

The cherry on the cake, she gets automatically engaged again, bringing her 3 resources or 2 resources and 1 test-free damage with Zoey's Cross

And the more enemies she has on her, the merrier!

Valentin1331 · 59403
That doesn't work, enemies won't disengage you just cause they gain aloof, you'd need a different way to achieve that, like warning shot (though hunters would come to you again in enemy phase an attack). — Django · 4963
Indeed, having aloof doesn't cause enemies to disengage from you, otherwise you would never be able to hurt aloof enemies as they would just disengage as soon as you engage them. But nice thinking — NarkasisBroon · 10
so instead I need to replace that one card with Cunning Distraction to have the effect that I am looking for... for much more resource, which would still repay fine when for example to 3 enemies re-engage while dodging all attacks. — Valentin1331 · 59403
Yes, Cunning Distraction would be better and mostly pay for itself when enemies re engage. — Time4Tiddy · 237

This card works very well with Parallel "Ashcan" Pete front. You can basically ignore non-Elite enemy for the rest of the game by recycling and playing this card each turn. Add also Chitarra di Pete and Trappola Improvvisata and you basically have full control of enemies without dealing damages directly to them.

Please help me great when an enemy would become Ready at the end of the enemy phase? Don't enemies that attack normally during enemy phase exhaust, and only ready up in the upkeep phase? So if they all gain Aloof (they never discard the hiding spot) and normal enemies who attack, exhaust, who are these enemies that discard the hiding spot? How long can it last? Many rounds? What's the longest you folks have kept a hiding spot up for?

Quantallar · 6
Aloof enemies would discard this card, unless they either have been engaged with an investigator before gaining aloof (they won't disengage from gaining aloof and hence attack and exhaust in the enemy phase), or have been engaged by an investigator. If an enemy floats on the location with aloof, it (normally) won't attack in the enemy phase and therefore would be ready at the end of the enemy phase, which discards this card. — Susumu · 347
I guess you could extend it for a round by exhausting all enemies and then playing this, so the aloof effect would go away at the end of the following Enemy Phase, but even that is kind of using up actions that could be used to advance the scenario. n the other hand, I've never used it, I don't think, so what do I know? — LivefromBenefitSt · 1030