Traîtrise. Faiblesse de Base


Mode Campagne uniquement.

Quand vous devenez le détenteur de cette faiblesse, gagnez 2 points d'expérience.

Révélation – Perdez 5 ressources. Si vous ne pouvez pas, à la place, retirez de votre deck Une Offre Impossible à Refuser, cherchez Clauses en Petits Caractères dans la collection et placez-la dans votre pile de défausse.

Andreas Zafiratos
Renouveau - La Civilisation Oubliée #13.
Une Offre Impossible à Refuser

Hello, I just have a couple of basic questions:

Rules book: Effects [...]

  • Once initiated, players must resolve as much of each aspect of the effect as they are able, unless the effect uses the word "may."
  • When a non-targeting effect attempts to interact with a number of entities (such as "draw 3 cards" or "search the top 5 cards of your deck") that exceeds the number of entities that currently exist in the specified game area, the effect interacts with as many entities as possible.

--> Does it means here, that if you loose less than 5 ressources the "If you cannot" effect triggers ?

--> Does Deny Existence still triggers the "If you cannot" effect triggers ? (I cannot imagine that it doesn't trigger)


phosgene · 3
So if you have, say, 3 resources, you'll lose all three because of the second bullet you quoted above. At the same time, since you have less than 5 resources, you cannot lose 5, so the second part of the effect triggers. If you play Deny Existence with 3 resources, you won't lose them, but because you still cannot lose 5 resources, the second effect triggers. If you Deny the resource loss with 5 resources, you can lose 5 resources (even though you won't), so the second effect won't trigger. I think. — SGPrometheus · 514
Since OYCR says "if you cannot, instead...", I think if you cannot lose the full 5 resources, you do not lose any and instead resolve the "remove OYCR from your deck..." effect. — ak45 · 354
Agreed; I didn't notice the "instead" there. So Deny Existence at <5 resources is pointless since you resolve the second effect instead of losing resources, but still useful at 5 or more. — SGPrometheus · 514
I dunno if I agree with SGPrometheus on this one. Ignore isn't defined in the rules reference guide. Ignoring that aspect of the effect isn't really well defined but could easily be interpreted to mean that the card reads as "Lose *nothing*. If you cannot..." Or "If you cannot...". Personally, in the absence of a ruling by Matt, I would take the precedent that if you ignore a cost you are still considered to have paid the cost. Therefore I think Deny Existence satisfies the requirement. — NarkasisBroon · 1
Ignoring an aspect of a card's effect doesn't change or remove the card's text; you simply don't resolve that aspect. Since you cannot lose 5 resources when you have 4 or less, the second effect triggers even if you denied the resource loss. — SGPrometheus · 514
Thanks all for your answer haven't thought about the I can lose 5 resources but I deny existence and then everyhting is fine. — phosgene · 3

I have a question about this basic weakness.

Right now the rules say the random basic weaknesses are added at the end of the deckbuilding process. Does that mean that the 2 experience you get from becoming the bearer of this weakness can't be used until the end of the first scenario? With the rules as written, that seems to be the case, but I wonder if that was the intention.

I haven't played with this weakness yet, but it seems debilitating if your name isn't Preston Fairmont. I think most investigators would prefer Paranoia. These campaign weaknesses that evolve to create disastrous consequences just seem mean in general. Having 2 experience here is at least nice little bit of compensation - if you could use the experience before the first scenario, it would seem more like the game was saying "here's a challenging weakness, take some experience to see if you can fight it off." However, since it seems like the experience comes after the first scenario, it feels instead more like the game is saying "this weakness is ultimately going to get you so you might as well live fast, here's some experience to see how far you can level up before you go."

I think the rules are worded that way to prevent you from totally restructuring your "all-money Preston" deck after drawing Paranoia. I'd say that the weakness gives you the two xp after deck construction, but before the first scenario, allowing you to upgrade your deck instantly. I really like that this weakness is just Doomed-but-that-was-divisive-so-we-balanced-it. — SGPrometheus · 514
My gut instinct says that there isn't a window to spend XP in before the campaign starts but Mateo contradicts that so I would stay consistent with Mateo and spend the XP before the campaign starts. — TWWaterfalls · 729
You build your deck, THEN get the weakness. The window Mateo uses to build his deck is the same window everyone gets, he just has more XP for it. You get this weakness AFTER that window, so presumably you have to just live with it for one scenario before you even get to use the 2XP. — StyxTBeuford · 12435
I wonder, why there is even a XP Bonus. Yes thematically it's a offer, so there have to be some benefit, but they could also designed it more like arcane research "lv0 survivor permanent, cannot discard by any means, you are gifted with more xp but dont have start resources". The difference were, it would be an active decision, not some random weakness — armin321 · 1